RESULTS: East Coast Bays claim national U-17 men’s title after tense final

posted in: News

East Coast Bays have become the national U-17 men’s champions after winning the annual four-day tournament in Auckland.

Bays beat Fencibles United 2-1 in a tense final at Western Springs’ Seddon Fields to etch their name on the trophy for the first time.

Bays went ahead in the first half through a well-taken goal from Caleb Noel.

Caleb Noel (right) turns to celebrate after scoring the opening goal for Bays.

However Fencibles levelled through Kodie Nicol with 10 minutes to go.

As it looked as though the game was going to need a penalty shootout, Bays were awarded a free kick on the edge of the Fencibles area.

Damion Kim (arms outstretched) scored the winner with his direct free kick late in the game.

With little more than a minute left, Damion Kim curled his shot around the defensive wall and into the net.

The goal clinched the game for Bays, leaving Fencibles United the runners-up.

Later in the afternoon, Fencibles won the women’s division, capping a successful tournament for the club.

READ MORE: Fencibles United crowned national U-17 women’s champions >>>>

East Coast Bays, the 2023 champions … Photo credit: East Coast Bays.

Meanwhile, Bay Olympic won the tournament’s plate section, beating Melville United 4-1 in the final while the Wellington Phoenix won the bowl.

The Phoenix beat hosts Western Springs 3-1 in the bowl final.


East Coast Bays

Jack McEwan, Hamish Strong. Niko Elie, Jack Young, Damion Kim, Caleb Noel, Peter Harrison, Fletcher Purvis, Orlando Thorpe, Luke Stoupe, Jacob Smith, Matthew Rodrigues, James Elder, Toby Coombe, Ray Ishihara, Ashtun Lake, Vincent Caminos, Adam Atkinson.

Fencibles United

Eli Jones, Ethan Holder, Finn Wessels, Frank Lu, Harrison Lloyd, James Fuller, Joey Ugwa, Khavin Kannan, Kodie Nicol, Krish Killa, Levi Saunders, Luca Johns, Nathan Martin, Nathan Walker, Nick Rooney, Prithvi Sidhu, Ryan Mackay, Will Pepper.

Honours board

Men’s U-17 winners / runners-up

2013: Three Kings United / Central United
2014: Ellerslie / Three Kings United
2015: Birkenhead United / Onehunga Sports
2016: Birkenhead United / Onehunga Sports
2017: Birkenhead United / Western Springs
2018: Wellington United / Western Springs
2019: Lower Hutt City / Birkenhead United
2020: Tauranga City / Lower Hutt City
2021: Birkenhead United / Lower Hutt City
2022: Birkenhead United / Melville United
2023: East Coast Bays / Fencibles United


Games played on Sunday December 10, 2023



East Coast Bays 2 (Caleb Noel 24′, Damion Kim 48′)
Fencibles United 1 (Kodie Nicol 40′)


Nomads United 1 (Aidan Sandys)
East Coast Bays 1 (Orlando Thorpe)
*Bays won 5-4 on penalties

Fencibles United 1 (Nicholas Rooney)
Eastern Suburbs 0



Bay Olympic 4 (Louis Busson, Adebabay Tesfaw 3)
Melville United 1 (Chester Opperman)


Bay Olympic 0
Christchurch United 0
*Bay Olympic won 7-6 on penalties

Melville United 0
Hamilton Wanderers 0
*Melville won 5-3 on penalties



Wellington Phoenix 3 (Riley Allison 3)
Western Springs Development 1 (Niko Clare)


Northland 1 (Max Eckstein)
Wellington Phoenix 1 (Riley Allison)
*Phoenix won 6-5 on penalties

Otumoetai 0
Western Springs Development 1 (Niko Clare)

More football stories