RESULTS: Fencibles United crowned national U-17 women’s champions

posted in: News

Fencibles United have beaten tournament hosts Western Springs to take out the 2023 national U-17 women’s championship.

Fencibles won 2-1 against a strong-finishing Springs side, ending four days of competition at Seddon Fields for 16 of the country’s best young women’s teams.

Main photo: Fencibles United players celebrate at the final whistle.

Fencibles United took the lead in the 10th minute when Taylah Byers appeared to get the last touch as the ball found the net from corner into a crowded penalty area.

Fencibles doubled their lead with eight minutes to go when Zoe Brazier struck.

Zoe Brazier is mobbed by teammates after she made it 2-0.

Two minutes later, Western Springs went close when Ela Jerez fired a long-range shot against the crossbar.

Then, Jerez struck again, finding the net with a fine goal with less than three minutes to go.

Springs tried to find a leveller but Fencibles kept their nerves to see out the game, and add their name to the trophy for the first time.

The win capped a fine tournament for the Fencibles United club as they finished runners-up to East Coast Bays in the men’s division.

READ MORE: East Coast Bays claim national U-17 men’s title after tense final >>>>


Fencibles United

Amelia Collins, Eden Chaytor, Gemma Hewlett, Grace Eng, Grace Rodwell, Haidee Smith, Kate Berry, Megan Waayer, Micaela Besley, Mikaela Bangalan, Millee Loxton, Millie Thompson, Mischa Marais, Rebecca Mauser, Sarah Enslin, Sofia Kong, Taylah Byers, Zoe Brazier.

Western Springs Green

Pallas Baker, Sophie Campbell, Cleo Carmichael, Maddison Day, Neve Dobson, Charlie Dunn, Eva Dykgraaf, Amanda Everett, Katherine Fulton, Ela Jerez. Gemma Kelly. Indigo Kirk, Ava Lewis, Maia Lythe, Rhee Morrison, Maeve Pope, Sienna Shearman, Sienna Vercauteren.

Honours board

Women’s U-17 winners 

2013: Three Kings United
2014: Dunedin Technical
2015: Three Kings United
2016: Eastern Suburbs
2017: Forrest Hill-Milford United
2018: Waimakariri United
2019: Hamilton Wanderers
2020: Forrest Hill-Milford United
2021: Auckland United
2022: Northern Rovers
2023: Fencibles United


Games played on Sunday December 10, 2023



Fencibles United 2 (Taylah Byers 10′, Zoe Brazier 42′)
Western Springs Green 1 (Ela Jerez 47′)


Wellington Phoenix 0
Fencibles United 1 (Zoe Brazier)

Auckland United 0
Western Springs Green 1 (Sienna Vercauteren)



Nomads United 0
West Coast Rangers 0
*West Coast Rangers won 5-4 on penalties


Nomads United 1 (Amber de Wit)
Birkenhead United 0

Coastal Spirit 0
West Coast Rangers 3 (Emily Lyon, 3)

More football stories