Long-serving Jo Ghent becomes Oratia United’s latest Life Member

Auckland’s Oratia United have granted Life Membership to long-time volunteer Jo Ghent.

She received the honour at the club’s recent Annual General Meeting, with the club stating:

“2024 will be the 12th season Jo has been actively involved with Oratia United.

“Since being elected to Honorary Membership in 2022, Jo has continued to play a vital part in the successful management of the club. From continuing as club secretary, taking over the running of the 7th Grade WJF; to ensuring every member from our youngest to our first team have the best match day experience; as well as getting engagement from all our members via social media channels.

“Jo is always available to answer queries from all levels of the club, no matter how busy she may already be and is always willing to take on extra responsibility to ensure the smooth and successful running of this club.”

Her efforts led to her being awarded the Club Volunteer of the Year for a second time in 2022, and the Club Service Award for a fourth time in 2023.

Life Members

Oratia United’s list of Life Members now includes:  Alan Smallman, Gerry Martens, Anton Martens, John Dryland, Mae McSporran, Brian Magee. Ian Rosenberg, Tommy Hampson, Ena Hampson, John Mills, Marion Mills, Steve Wood, Mike Hayes, Jane Hayes, Kimbal McHugo, Sharon Ward, Kev Langsdale, Dave Taylor, Ray Jones, Garth Price, Anthony Sutton, Peter Goodburn, Jo Ghent.

Honorary Members

The club’s list of Honorary Members: David Parkinson, Trevor Brook, Ian Parris, Carl Musto, John Guy, Colin McPherson, Colleen Short, Natasha Clark, Natalee Langsdale, Russel Langsdale, Jo Ghent, Ian Quintal, Julie Sutton.

More football stories