Tickets sell fast for Auckland City’s Club World Cup tie against Saudi champs

posted in: FIFA Club World Cup, News

Auckland City look set to play in front of a capacity crowd of 62,000 when they play Saudi champions Al-Ittihad in the opening game at the FIFA Club World Cup.

All public tickets for the match sold within 24 hours of FIFA opening the first phase of individual ticket sales for the match.

The King Abdullah Sports City Stadium in Jeddah holds 62,000, and local support is strong for the winners of the 2022-23 Saudi Pro League.

FIFA say more tickets for the tournament will be released in second and third phases in October and November, and an official resale platform will be launched ahead of the tournament.

However, it’s expected that tickets for the Auckland City v Al-Ittihad will need to be bought as either part of a seven-match package for all seven games at the tournament, or a five-game deal for games played at the King Abdulah Sports City Stadium.

READ MORE: Chris Kemp appointed to help Auckland City’s FIFA Club World Cup campaign >>>>


Game to be played on Wednesday December 13 (NZT)

Al-Ittihad v Auckland City
King Abdulah Sports City Stadium, 6am (NZT)

The winner of that game will play Al Ahly, who are the current African champions.

Al Ahly knocked out Auckland City in the opening game of the last FIFA Club World Cup, winning 3-0 in the opening game of February’s tournament in Morocco.

READ MORE: Auckland City’s cup dream ends with 3-0 first round defeat to Egyptians >>>>

The draw for the next FIFA Club World Cup was made in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Tournament draw

Teams qualified for the FIFA Club World Cup are:

  • Auckland City, New Zealand (Oceania champions)
  • Al-Ittihad, Saudi Arabia (hosts)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan (Asia champions)
  • Club Leon, Mexico (North & Central America/Caribbean champions)
  • Al Ahly, Egypt (African champions)
  • Manchester City (European champions)

The seventh and last qualifier will be decided on November 4, when the final of the 2023 Copa Libertadores is held, deciding which club will represent South America.

Match schedule

Previous FIFA Club World Cup winners

2000: Corinthians
2005: Sao Paulo
2006: Internacional
2007: AC Milan
2008: Manchester United
2009: Barcelona
2010: Inter Milan
2011: Barcelona
2012: Corinthians
2013: Bayern Munich

2014: Real Madrid
2015: Barcelona
2016: Real Madrid
2017: Real Madrid
2018: Real Madrid
2019: Liverpool
2020: Bayern Munich
2021: Chelsea
2022: Real Madrid

More football stories