Mixed results for Kiwis on final day of World University Futsal Championships

posted in: News

New Zealand’s teams have played their final games at the World Univesity Futsal Championships in Portugal.

The women’s team lost their play-off for the tournament’s bronze medal, losing 5-0 to Poland.

The men beat Slovakia 4-0 to take 7th place in their championship.

Here’s how the final day of competition went:



Play-off for bronze medal

New Zealand 0
Poland 5 (Izabela Tracz 11′, Anna Kowalczyk 11′, Patrycja Sutkowska 16′, Kinga Ejzel 19′, Adrianna Sobolewska 37′)

Women’s squad

Mackenzie Falco; University of Canterbury; Mainland
Hannah Milligan; AUT; NRF
Sophie Williams*; University of Canterbury; Mainland
Ella James*; University of Auckland; NRF
Rebecca Lake; University of Canterbury; Mainland
Emily Gillion; Massey University; NRF
Lilly Muspratt; University of Waikato; WaiBoP
Jennifer Merkin; University of Canterbury; Mainland
Samantha Whyte; University of Canterbury; Capital
Frankie Morrow; University of Canterbury; Mainland
Alosi Bloomfield; University of Auckland; NRF
Ellena Firth; University of Canterbury; Mainland
Eve Barry; Victoria University of Wellington; Central
Britney-Lee Nicholson*; University of Canterbury; Mainland

* Indicates capped Futsal Fern



Play-off for 7th place

New Zealand 4 (Kyle Wisnewski 1′, 19′, Oban Hawkins 17′, Aidan Robson 36′)
Slovakia 0

READ MORE: Click here for coverage of men’s play-off for 5th place >>>>

READ MORE: Click here for coverage of quarter-finals >>>>

READ MORE: Click here for Day 3 coverage >>>>

READ MORE: Click here for Day 2 coverage, including photo galleries >>>>

Men’s squad

Patrick Steele; University of Waikato; WaiBoP
Sean Beresford; Victoria University of Wellington; Capital
Logan Wisnewski*; University of Waikato; WaiBoP
Hamish Grey; Massey University; NRF
Ethan Martin; University of Waikato; WaiBoP
Oban Hawkins*; Otago University; Football South
Jordi Ditfort*; University of Waikato; WaiBoP
Hemi Innes; University of Canterbury; Mainland
Tyler Ericksen; University of Waikato; WaiBoP
Thomas Picken; University of Auckland; NRF
Casey Sharplin; University of Waikato; WaiBoP
Aidan Robson; University of Waikato; WaiBoP
Rahan Ali; Open Polytechnic; Football South
Kyle Wisnewski; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Non-travelling reserves

Chris Preece
Connor McConchie
Mazen Rabih
Davis Vhavha

* Indicates capped Futsal White

More football stories