It’s time to enter our sixth annual charity golf day for football lovers

posted in: Events, News

Friends of Football will host their sixth annual golf day at Huapai Golf Club on Thursday March 25, 2021.

It’s another opportunity for our members and supporters to get together for a day of golf and football banter as they play the course beside Auckland’s Coatesville-Riverhead Highway.

Teams of four will compete for the Bill MacGowan Memorial Trophy and an array of fantastic prizes.

Proceeds from the Trojan Batteries-sponsored day will support Friends of Football’s efforts to back projects and activities that benefit the game in New Zealand.

Teams will gather for refreshments by 11.30am, ready for a shotgun start at 12.30pm.

After 18 holes, players can enjoy post-game hospitality, including a buffet dinner and a prizegiving that will put a smile on any golfer’s face.

Raffles and a charity auction will also make available more prizes and unique football-related items.

Our venue

Check out the fine facilities at Huapai Golf Club here >>>>

Our main sponsor

Our 2021 Golf Day is supported by Trojan Batteries.

Trojan Batteries are available through YHI Energy.

Playing rules

The competition will use an Ambrose format. Official golf handicap index applies, while players without an official handicap will approximate their handicap to a maximum of 18.

How to enter

Entry fee is $460 for a team of four.

Help us promote our golf day

Please download our flyer and share it with your friends >>>>

Click here to download our golf flyer >>>>

Remembering Bill MacGowan

Our trophy for the winning team is named after the late Bill MacGowan, one of New Zealand sport’s best administrators, who died in 2018.

With the help of Bill’s wife, Trish, we introduced the trophy in his name for our 2019 golf day.

Though we were unable to hold our event in 2020 due to COVID-19 restrictions, we’re proud to celebrate the memory of Bill MacGowan again this year.

Last year’s winners

The first team to win the Bill MacGowan Memorial Trophy were Carters Henderson, led by All White Darren White.

Click here for more details >>>>