Promoted Franklin United appoint new coaches for NRFL Championship season

Franklin United will go into next season’s Lotto NRFL Men’s Championship season with a fresh coaching duo at the helm.

Paul Day and Mike Day have been appointed first-team coaches for United who won promotion to the Championship after winning the Lotto NRFL Northern Conference last season, and then beating Southern Conference winners Waikato Unicol in a promotion play-off.

READ MORE: Franklin United clinch promotion with 1-0 win against Waikato Unicol >>>>

Making the announcement, the club said:

“Paul and Mike are well known and respected in the football circles having both played parts in our historic 2023 season.

“They are perfect fits to continue the solid foundations put in place over the past few seasons. Both bring a wealth of experience and enthusiasm to the club and are excited to build on the culture and success at the club.”

The pair said they were ready “to bring passion and expertise” to their roles.

Paul Day (37) is a former Manukau United and Manurewa player who joined Franklin for the 2023 season.

Mike Day (38) has played for a number of South Auckland clubs, including Waiuku, Manukau United, Papakura City and Manurewa.

Main photo: Paul Day and Mike Day … will be first-team coaches for 2024.

Shane Thomas (left) and Mark Holt. They’ll coach the Franklin United U-23 squad.

They take over the first team coaching duties from Mark Holt who will co-coach United’s U-23 team with club president Shane Thomas.

Holt (37), who will be in his fifth season at the club, said:

“I am stoked we have got Paul and Mike as first team coaches. They have an outstanding desire to see this club progress and I have no doubt they will take the team to another level.

“I have enjoyed helping rebuild the men’s space as first team coach over the past few years, however, my passion has always been developing the junior and youth space.

“This new role provides the opportunity. Shane and I look forward to supporting the new first team staff as well as providing avenues for our younger players to keep improving their game.”

Thomas (46) was formerly Waiuku’s Director of Junior Football, and is an experienced junior coach with Waiuku AFC and Drury United.

“The coaching team for senior men will definitely help the club to grow on our recent successes and, as part of the coaching team, I can’t wait to work with our talented young men and also look forward to bringing through our local kids and giving them opportunities in our pathways to really push on and become amazing footballers for the future.”

Holt and Thomas replaced previous U-23 coach Tam Cramer who is relocating to Gisborne.

Franklin United … won the 2023 Lotto NRFL Men’s Northern Conference. Photo: Regan Dewar / Phototek.

Franklin United are the sixth Championship club to make coaching changes for next season and at least one more club is expected to have a new coach.

2024 Lotto NRFL Men’s Championship

Teams to play in the 2024 Lotto NRFL Men’s Championship are:

  • Takapuna (relegated from Northern League)
  • Manukau United (relegated from Northern League)
  • Ngaruawahia United (3rd this year)
  • Mount Albert Ponsonby (4th)
  • North Shore United (5th)
  • Hibiscus Coast (6th)
  • Ellerslie (7th)
  • Fencibles United (8th)
  • Northern Rovers (9th)
  • Onehunga Mangere United (10th)
  • Metro (11th)
  • Franklin United (promoted)

Coaching appointments at other Championship clubs

NORTHERN ROVERS have appointed Daniel Donegan as their first team men’s coach for next year.

READ MORE: Northern Rovers appoint Daniel Donegan as men’s head coach for next season >>>>

NORTH SHORE UNITED have named Dave Fahy as head coach of their 2024 squad.

READ MORE: Dave Fahy to lead North Shore United’s next NRFL Championship campaign >>>>

FENCIBLES UNITED have appointed Rhys Ruka as the head coach of their Lotto NRFL Men’s Championship side for next season.

READ MORE: Fencibles United unveil Rhys Ruka as men’s head coach for Championship >>>>

TAKAPUNA, relegated to the Championship from the Northern League, will have Daniel Semp as their head coach next season.

READ MORE: Takapuna name Daniel Semp as head coach for next year’s Championship season >>>>

MOUNT ALBERT PONSONBY have confirmed that Darren White (head coach) and Sam Jasper (assistant coach) will return for another Championship campaign in 2024.

READ MORE: White and Jasper to return for another crack at promotion to Northern League >>>>

METRO have named Neil Sykes as their head coach for the next three years.

READ MORE: Metro name Neil Sykes as men’s first team head coach for next three years >>>>

ONEHUNGA MANGERE UNITED have appointed Paul Marshall as their head coach after his return to the club from Manurewa.

READ MORE: Paul Marshall returns to Onehunga Mangere United as head coach >>>>

ELLERSLIE have re-appointed Ben Fletcher as head coach of the Ponies’ first team.

READ MORE: Ellerslie confirm coaches for women’s and men’s first teams >>>>

MANUKAU will have Tashreeq Davids as their head coach.

READ MORE: Manukau United keen to bounce back in Lotto NRFL Men’s Championship >>>>

Tell Friends of Football your club news

Please let us know what’s happening at your club.

Either send us your media releases or send us a link to your announcement/story on your website.

If we think it’ll interest football fans and our members, we’ll do our best to share your news.

Email us at

Use our logo

Please add our logo to your club’s website and invite your members and supporters to check us out.

More football stories