Brazilian champions to join Auckland City at December’s FIFA Club World Cup

Auckland City will face Brazilian champions Fluminese if they get past their opening games at December’s FIFA Club World Cup in Saudi Arabia.

Fluminese became the seventh and final qualifier for the tournament when they beat Argentina’s Boca Juniors 2-1 in extra time to win the 2023 Copa Libertadores final on Sunday November 5 (NZT).

The qualification of Fluminese provides the last element of the draw for the Club World Cup.

Auckland City, representing Oceania, will play hosts Al-Ittihad before an expected crowd of 62,000 at King Abdulah Sports City Stadium on Wednesday December 13 (NZT).

READ MORE: Tickets sell fast for Auckland City’s Club World Cup tie against Saudi champs >>>>

The winners of that game will play Egyptian champions Al Ahly, who represent Africa, with the winners meeting Fluminese in the tournament semi-finals.

Al Ahly knocked out Auckland City in the opening game of the last FIFA Club World Cup, winning 3-0 in the opening game of February’s tournament in Morocco.

READ MORE: Auckland City’s cup dream ends with 3-0 first round defeat to Egyptians >>>>

Auckland City have three more domestic competition fixtures before heading to the Saudi Arabia tournament, with Men’s National League games against Wellington Olympic and Christchurch United, followed by a Grand Final at Go Media Stadium Mt Smart on Sunday November 26.

READ MORE: Auckland City make sure of Grand Final berth while Olympic edge closer >>>>

READ MORE: Women’s and men’s National League grand finals booked for Auckland >>>>

READ MORE: Chris Kemp appointed to help Auckland City’s FIFA Club World Cup campaign >>>>


Game to be played on Wednesday December 13 (NZT)

Al-Ittihad v Auckland City
King Abdulah Sports City Stadium, 6am (NZT)

Tournament draw

Teams qualified for the FIFA Club World Cup are:

  • Auckland City, New Zealand (Oceania champions)
  • Al-Ittihad, Saudi Arabia (hosts)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan (Asia champions)
  • Club Leon, Mexico (North & Central America/Caribbean champions)
  • Al Ahly, Egypt (African champions)
  • Manchester City (European champions)
  • Fluminese (South American champions)

Match schedule

Previous FIFA Club World Cup winners

2000: Corinthians
2005: Sao Paulo
2006: Internacional
2007: AC Milan
2008: Manchester United
2009: Barcelona
2010: Inter Milan
2011: Barcelona
2012: Corinthians
2013: Bayern Munich

2014: Real Madrid
2015: Barcelona
2016: Real Madrid
2017: Real Madrid
2018: Real Madrid
2019: Liverpool
2020: Bayern Munich
2021: Chelsea
2022: Real Madrid

More football stories